clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sidney Crosby Wins ESPY For Best NHL Player

New, 3 comments

For the fourth consecutive year, Sidney Crosby has won the ESPY award for being the best NHL player.


The award is basically a popularity contest, since fans vote for it at ESPN's website. points out that Crosby now pulls ahead of Penguins’ legend Mario Lemieux in the ESPY count, by a margin of 4 to 3.


The ESPY comes in contrast to the results of last month’s NHL awards, where Vancouver’s Henrik Sedin won the Hart Trophy for MVP, and Washington’s Alex Ovechkin won the newly named Ted Lindsay award for the NHL player’s vote for MVP. Crosby also won a share of the Rocket Richard Trophy (tied with Tampa’s Steven Stamkos with league leading 51 goals), and Crosby also won the Mark Messier Leadership Award.

Photographs by dizfunk used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.