clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Penn State's Devon Still Named Bednarik Award And Outland Trophy Finalist

Penn State defensive tackle standout Devon Still was named a finalist for both the Bednarik Award and Outland Trophy on Monday evening. The Bednarik is presented by the Maxwell Football Club to the most outstanding defensive player in the country. The Outland is presented to the best interior lineman, on offense or defense, by the the Football Writers Association of America.


In addition to Still, SEC West stars Tyrann Mathieu of LSU and Dont'a Hightower of Alabama were named Bednarik finalists. Of the three Outland finalists, Still was the only lineman from the defensive side of the ball.


Stanford guard David DeCastro and Alabama offensive tackle Barrett Jones join Still as Outland finalists. Both the Outland and Bednarik will be announced on December 9 as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show. Former Nittany Lion standouts to win the Bednarik include LaVar Arrington, Paul Posluszny (back-to-back), and Dan Connor. Mike Reid is the only PSU player to win the Outland, capturing the trophy in 1969.

Photographs by dizfunk used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.