clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Penn State football: 4 players win 1st team All-Big Ten honors

The Nittany Lions surpassed all expectations in 2012.


Penn State had one of the most impressive years of any team in the nation, considering the circumstances they played with in 2012. No one really gave new head coach Bill O'Brien much of a chance, and it ended up causing his players to rally around him.

As the Big Ten gave out their annual team honors on Monday, four PSU players were named to the first team. On offense, wide receiver Allen Robinson won the Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year Award in addition to making the team. Senior linebacker Michael Mauti received the Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year Award. Senior defensive tackle Jordan Hill was also named to the first team.

Senior center Matt Stankiewitch and junior guard John Urschel were selected to the coaches' first-team and media second-team. Redshirt freshman tight end Kyle Carter was named to the first team by the media. Senior linebacker Gerald Hodges garnered second-team All-Big Ten honors from the coaches and media, earning the all-conference nomination for the second year in a row.

Photographs by dizfunk used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.