clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Triple Crown 2012: I'll Have Another Could Become First Since Affirmed To Accomplish Feat

I'll Have Another did it again on Saturday, coming from behind to win a leg of horse racing's vaunted Triple Crown. I'll Have Another's victim at the 2012 Preakness Stakes was once again Bodemeister, who also fell short in the Kentucky derby a few weeks ago. I'll Have Another and 25-year-old jockey Mario Gutierrez are now one win away from capturing the first Triple Crown in 34 years.

Affirmed was the last to win the Triple Crown, in 1978. Since then, 11 horses have won both the Derby and Preakness but have fallen short in the Belmont, the final leg of the journey. The most recent to come up was Big Brown, in 2008, with Smarty Jones also missing out on the Triple Crown with a 2004 loss at Belmont.

The 2012 Belmont Stakes will take place in three weeks, on June 9th at Belmont Park in New York.

The 11 horses that have captured the Triple Crown:

1919 Sir Barton
1930 Gallant Fox
1935 Omaha
1937 War Admiral
1941 Whirlaway
1943 Count Fleet
1946 Assault
1948 Citation
1973 Secretariat
1977 Seattle Slew
1978 Affirmed

For more on the Preakness Stakes and the race for the Triple Crown, stay with this StoryStream and check out SB Nation's horse racing blog And Down The Stretch They Come. There, you'll also find a A Beginner's Guide To Following Horse Racing and a glossary of horse racing terms.

Photographs by dizfunk used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.