clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Championship Sites Announced

Indianapolis has been set as the site for the first Big Ten football championship game in December for a while now. On Sunday night, however, the Conference announced the city will get to hold onto the game, as the Colts' Lucas Oil Stadium has been named the site for the league title game through 2015.


The basketball tournaments will rotate between Chicago/Hoffman Estates and Indianapolis through that year as well. The men's tournament will rotate between Chicago's United Center and Indianaplis' Conseco Fieldhouse while the women's tournament will play at the Sears Centere Arena in Hoffman Estates and Conseco.


Lucas Oil Stadium is an indoor venue, meaning the Big Ten championship will be the only conference game the contesting teams play inside all season as all 12 Big Ten members have outdoor stadiums. It'll be interesting to see how these temperate conditions affect teams built to play out in the elements for most of the year.

Photographs by dizfunk used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.