clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Tournament 2012: Michigan State Wins Big Ten Championship

The Michigan State Spartans have won the 2012 Big Ten Championship, beating the Ohio State Buckeyes 68-64 Sunday afternoon.

Brandon Wood scored 21 points for the Spartans, with Draymond Green putting up 12 points and nine rebounds. Ohio State had five players in double figures, including Jared Sullinger, who had 18 points and nine rebounds.

The two teams played a tight game throughout the first half, then had a seesaw second half. Ohio State had a seven-point lead with 14 minutes to go, but the Spartans reeled off 10 unanswered points from there to take a 55-52 lead. Michigan State mostly maintained a small lead from there. Aaron Craft made a layup to put the Buckeyes within three points with 15 seconds to go, but a foul shot by Austin Thornton shortly thereafter sealed the game for Michigan State.

For more on the Big Ten Tournament, be sure to check out BT Powerhouse.

Photographs by dizfunk used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.