clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

West Virginia football: Tavon Austin wins award

West Virginia's Tavon Austin earned Special Teams Player of the Year honors in the Mountaineers inaugural season in the Big 12.


West Virginia's Tavon Austin was named Co-Special Teams Player of the Year in the Big 12, sharing the award with Oklahoma State's Quinn Sharp. Austin, a senior leader and one of the country's most explosive players, was the only Mountaineer player on the conference's awards list, as Kansas State's Arthur Brown and Collin Klein picked up top honors on both sides of the ball.

Austin finished the season with 165 yards on 15 punt returns and 738 yards on 28 kickoff returns. He also took back both a punt and kickoff for touchdowns, adding to his record-breaking and electrifying career in Morgantown. Sharp, a senior kicker and punter with the Cowboys, averaged nearly 46 yards per punt and made 25 of 31 field goal attempts.

Stedman Bailey joined Austin on the All-Conference First Team, with both players pulling in more than 100 receptions during an incredible season. Austin will finish his career at WVU in the Pinstripe Bowl, where the Mountaineers will face former Big East foe Syracuse.

Photographs by dizfunk used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.